It is currently Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:02 pm

All times are UTC - 10 hours [ DST ]

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Another Aloha from WA
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:46 pm 
Kama

I was in Kona "accidentally" a couple of weeks ago. I'm a teacher and we have mid-winter break over Presidents' Day weekend. I decided to do the Great Aloha Run on Oahu with a friend and waited until almost the last minute to make my reservations. No direct flights so I got to visit the airport for a few hours.

We were a military family and transferred to Hickam in 1964. I graduated high school the next year and went back to the mainland for college. In 1975 I was back on Oahu. My second son was born at the old Kaiser hospital where The Prince (?) hotel now stands in Waikiki.

I used to work full-time as a CPA and about 14 years ago (how time flies!) a client turned over a parcel at HOVE in lieu of payment on his last bill. I did not see the property until two years ago. My lot is up high in the sky but at least electricity is on my street.

That stopover in Kona starting me thinking about making a serious change in my life. I am not happy where I am. I was so upset about having to leave Hawaii in 1986 that I could not have any reminders around for many years. About the same time I made the trip to HOVE, I started putting pictures of Hawaii up in my house here in Washington. But pictures are not enough.

I have always felt "at home" in Hawaii, no matter what island. I think it's time I started thinking about going home.

My current plans include finishing one more year at my current job. It's about money.